A New Look At The 10 Commandments: 3 Levels Of Behavior

The Bible tells us:

1.) What is ideal

2.) What is permissible, and

3.) What is forbidden

#1: “You shall have no other gods before me.”

Worshipping God is ideal.

Honoring rulers is permissible.

Worshipping others is forbidden.

#2: “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth”

Worshipping God is ideal.

Creating images for art is permitted.

Worshipping images is forbidden. 

#3: “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.”

Using God’s name correctly and in worship is ideal.

Expressing frustration to God is permitted.

Blaspheming God is forbidden. 

#5: “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.”

Taking rest is ideal.

Taking extra rest may be necessary.

Laziness or overwork is forbidden.

#6: “Honor your father and your mother.”

Honoring your parents is ideal.

Challenging your parents is permissible.

Cursing or speaking ill of your parents is forbidden.

#7: “You shall not murder.”

Advocating and defending life is ideal.

Killing in war or criminal punishment is permissible.

Murder is forbidden.

#8: “You shall not commit adultery.”

Faithfulness in marriage is ideal.

Divorce for unfaithfulness is permitted.

Unfaithfulness is forbidden.

Man and wife is ideal.

Remarriage is permissible.

Gay marriage and living together is forbidden.

#9: “You shall not steal.”

Trade is ideal.

Borrowing is permissible.

Stealing is forbidden.

#10: “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.”

Truth telling is ideal.

Withholding information is permissible.

Lying is forbidden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *